Leadership - Barry K. Logan, Ph.D., DABFT

Barry K. Logan, Ph.D., DABFT

Vice President of Forensic Science Initiatives and Chief of Forensic Toxicology

NMS Labs is pleased to announce that Dr. Logan has been named President of the
American Academy of Forensic Sciences

Dr. Logan has been working closely with Past President, Dr. Bob Barsley, and the organization’s officers to support the advancement of forensic science. With 29 years of experience in forensic toxicology, Dr. Logan’s research and casework experience centers on human performance toxicology, DUI/drugs, and postmortem toxicology. As a leader in research on impaired driving, he focuses on abused drugs and prescription medications and their impact on driver performance and crash risk. He has also led several nationwide initiatives in responding to the designer drug threat. With over 90 peer-reviewed articles in leading journals, Dr. Logan is recognized as a thought leader who makes a significant and positive difference.

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is the premier forensic science professional organization in the United States, with more than 7,000 members in 11 disciplines. The organization offers a professional framework for education and professional development and provides a voice for the forensic sciences in policy and legal issues at the national level.

Congratulations to Dr. Logan on this distinguished achievement!

Dr_Logan_2.jpgDr. Barry K. Logan is a graduate of the University of Glasgow in Scotland graduating with degrees in chemistry and forensic toxicology in 1982 and 1986 respectively. He received four years postdoctoral training in forensic toxicology at the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences in Memphis. In 1990, he was appointed State Toxicologist and Assistant Professor of laboratory medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle, and in 1999 he was appointed Director of the Forensic Laboratory Services Bureau for the Washington State Patrol. He served in both positions until 2008, when he joined NMS Labs in Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, as National Director of Forensic and Toxicological Services. NMS Labs is an independent forensic laboratory, specializing in new drug detection and forensic analysis for the prosecution and defense in criminal justice and death investigation agencies. Dr. Logan’s responsibilities include management of toxicology resources, new test design and development, quality management, and expert testimony in forensic toxicology and chemistry.

Dr. Logan is Board Certified by the American Board of Forensic Toxicologists (ABFT), and has over eighty publications in toxicology and analytical chemistry, including papers on the effects of methamphetamine, cocaine, marijuana, alcohol, hallucinogens and depressant drugs on drivers, and postmortem redistribution of drugs. His recent work has focused on the analytical and interpretive toxicology of emerging recreational and designer drugs. In 2002, Dr. Logan was appointed Executive Director of the Robert F. Borkenstein Center for Studies of Law in Action at Indiana University, hosting the Borkenstein Alcohol and Drug Courses. Since 2010, Dr. Logan has also served as Executive Director at the Center for Forensic Science Research and Education at the Fredric Rieders Family Renaissance Foundation in suburban Philadelphia. The Center supports educational programs in the forensic sciences for high school and graduate students, and continuing professional education for forensic science professionals. Dr. Logan has made over 300 presentations to professional groups and conferences in the area of forensic science.

Dr. Logan is a member of many professional organizations in forensic science, including the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS), the Society of Forensic Toxicologists, The American Association of Crime laboratory Directors, The International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety, and the Canadian Society of Forensic Sciences.

In recognition of his work and contributions, Dr. Logan has received the International Association of Forensic Toxicologists mid-career achievement award in 2004, the AAFS Rolla N. Harger Award in 2010, and the National Safety Council's Robert F. Borkenstein Award in 2011, and the International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety’s (ICADTS) prestigious Widmark Award in 2013. He has served in various positions on the Board of the AAFS since 2005, and was elected President in 2013.
« Back